2013 Oakleigh Plate – Nominations

February 18th, 2013

Nominations have been released for the Group 1 Oakleigh Plate, whichis due to run at Caulfield Racecourse this Saturday February 23, 2013.

22 horses are included in the 2013 Oakleigh Plate nominations, including Barakey.

Barakey has won all 11 of his career starts and has earned more than $650,000 in prize money during his horse racing career.

The five-year-old will be having his first Melbourne start after proving himself in his hometown of Perth.


Ortensia is nominated for the 2013 Oakleigh Plate this Saturday. Picture by Taron Clarke.

Barakey won the Group 3 Colonel Reeves Stakes by four lengths last November before backing up to win the Group 1 Winterbottom Stakes later that month.

The Jim Taylor-trained gelding will now look to put Barakey’s talent to the test against some of Australia’s best gallopers in the 2013 Oakleigh Plate.

Also included in the 2013 Oakleigh Plate nominations is Ortenisa, who will be having her first start of 2013 in the race.

The talented seven-year-old spent all of 2013 aboard on an overseas campaign, where she won the Group 1 Al Quoz Sprint at Meydan in Dubai and the Group 1 Nunthorpe Stakes at York in England.

Ortenisa has won 13 of her 35 race starts and has earned more than $2.5 million in prize money so far.

Spirit Of Boom, Adebisi and Woorim are also included in the 2013 Oakleigh Plate nominations.

Be sure to open an account with our favourite online bookmaker bookmaker.com.au now to make sure you are receiving their great odds for the 2013 Oakleigh Plate.

Just enter the promo code BONUSBET when you join bookmaker.com.au today and you will receive a bonus bet worth up to $400 to spend this autumn racing carnival.

So don’t wait another second. Sign up now and start winning today!

2013 Oakleigh Plate Nominations

No. Horse Trainer Hcp Rating
1 ADEBISI Desleigh Forster 103
2 AVOID LIGHTNING David Jolly 97
3 BARAKEY Jim P Taylor 107
4 CANALI Stephen Brown 98
5 EIGHT BILLS Troy Portelli 88
6 FACILE TIGRE Jason McLachlan 103
7 FREERETURN Jason Warren 100
8 KARUTA QUEEN Peter G Moody 99
9 LANKAN RUPEE Mick Price 78
10 LONE ROCK Robert Smerdon 106
11 MRS ONASSIS Gerald Ryan 97
12 ORTENSIA Paul Messara 113
13 RESCUE MISSION (NZ) Anthony Freedman 94
14 SEA LORD Stephen Brown 104
15 SHAMAL WIND Robert Smerdon 88
17 SOLSAY Michael Kent 81
18 SPIRIT OF BOOM Tony Gollan 105
19 UNANIMOUSLY Matthew Dale 95
20 UNDENIABLY Mark Kavanagh 96
21 WHITLAM Kris Lees 82
22 WOORIM Robert Heathcote 109